• SEQUENCE 1 : Song of myself

    05/09

    Exploring the blog tools

    Improving your pronunciation :

     

     Introducing yourselves

    Revisions :

    age  : I AM 14 / 15 - I'm 14 / 15

    birth : I WAS born in Valence / Die...

    I was born on July 13th.

    I play the piano.

    I listen (silent t) to music all the time. / listening (silent t and e)

    likes : I love watching movies / I like travelling / I enjoy spending time with my friends...

    I went to Spain last summer.

    Oral comprehension :

    1.  Her name is Sheila Hutchinson.  She's Jamaican but she's studying in the USA at the moment.  She loves visiting new countries.  She was born on February the 29th, 1981. She's studying to become a lawyer.

    2.  Her name is Shani Robinson. She's Jamaican too.  She was born in Manchester, Jam on the 29th of February, 1989.

    At the moment, she's working in France in a lycée and she has a recent passport because she needed it to come to France.  She would like to visit many European countries before her passport expires in July 2018.

    Homework : finish writing a paragraph giving similar information about yourself.

    10/09

    Revision :

    I was born on the 1st / 2nd / 3rd / 4th.../ 21st / 22nd / 23rd / 24th... / 31st of January / February..., 2002.

    I'm a student at Lycée Armorin / I attend Lycée Armorin

    Oral comprehension practice.

    Scripts for self-correction :

    1.
    I’m Sheila Hutchinson and I’m Jamaican. I was born on February 29th, 1981 in Kingston,
    which is the capital of this country. I don’t live in Jamaica because I’m studying in the USA
    to become a lawyer. My passport was issued in 2002 because I’m very fond of travelling.
    I love visiting foreign countries! I go abroad every summer.
    2.
    My name is Shani Robinson and I was also born in Jamaica on February 29th, but in 1989, in Manchester, which is also in the southern part of Jamaica. I’m an actuary, though at the moment, I work in France in a lycée. I needed a passport to go to France, that’s why my passport is fairly recent: It was issued in July 2008 and will expire in 2018. I hope to have visited many European countries by that time!
    3.
    My name is Sarah Kendal Stine, and I am an American citizen. I was born on January 7th,1986 in Alabama. My passport was issued in New Orleans, Louisiana because it is the state where I live and study now. My passport was issued in 2003 and is valid for ten years.
    4.
    I’m Debbie Steiner. I was born on June 7th, 1981 in New Orleans, and I’m Anglo-American. I live and work as a teacher in Montgomery, Alabama which is famous because Martin Luther King was born there. I don’t really like travelling but I needed a passport to visit my English family next summer, so my passport is brand-new: It was issued in January 2009 and will hopefully last until 2019 if I don’t lose it before then. I’m so careless!

     Correction :

    Her name is Sarah Kendal Stine, and she is an American citizen. She was born on January 7th,1986 in Alabama. Her passport was issued in New Orleans, Louisiana because it is the state where she lives and studies now. Her passport was issued in 2003 and is valid for ten years.

    Her name is Debbie Steiner. She was born on June 7th, 1981 in New Orleans, and she's Anglo-American. She lives and works as a teacher in Montgomery, Alabama which is famous because Martin Luther King was born there. She doesn’t really like travelling but she needed a passport to visit her English family following summer, so her passport is brand-new: It was issued in January 2009 and will hopefully last until 2019 if she doesn’t lose it before then. She says she's very careless!

    12/09

    Brainstorm : talking about your personality

    curious / funny / crazy / kind / friendly / smart / stupid / boring / creative / depressed / shy...

     

    17/09

    More adjectives describing personality :

    sloppy / messy / lazy / honest / stubborn / sympathetic / optimistic / pessimistic / joyful / helpful / sporty / athletic / contented...

    My family say(s) I'm sloppy but I think I'm helpful and honest. My friends say I'm joyful and sympathetic and I agree with them!

    Poems page 20 :

    Travail sur l'intonation et la prononciation :

    introduction à l'utilisation des formes faibles (to) qu'on utilise la plupart du temps.

    Homework :

    - apprendre le lexique (adjectifs + phrases)

    - finir de relever et classer les expressions du 1er poème (expression des goûts, des souhaits, des contraintes...)

    - dans le 2ème poème, relever les adjectifs et les expressions en les classant aussi.

     

    19/09

    1st hour :

    - recap

    - révisions à partir des poèmes

    Expressing likes and dislikes :

    I like travelling to new places : LIKE + V-ing  /  NOUN /  to + BV

    I love soccer : LOVE + NOUN  / V-ing / TO + BV

    I hate country music : HATE + NOUN / V-ing / TO + BV

    I enjoy drawing : ENJOY + V-ing / ADJ + NOUN (I enjoy a brisk walk in the morning)

    I'm keen on sports : BE KEEN ON + NOUN / V-ing

    I'm fond of horror movies : BE FOND OF + NOUN / V-ing

    I'm in love with puppies : BE IN LOVE WITH + NOUN

    I don't like spiders : DON'T / DOESN'T LIKE + NOUN / V-ing /TO + BV

    I loathe getting up before 6.30! : LOATHE + V-ing / NOUN / TO + BV

    I can't stand / I can't bear injustice : CAN'T STAND / CAN'T BEAR + NOUN / V-ing

    I adore my sisters! : ADORE + NOUN / V-ing

     

    2nd hour :

    Expressing dreams and wishes :

    I'd like to visit Australia : I'D LIKE TO + BV

    I dream of visiting New Zealand : I DREAM OF + V-ing

     

    Expressing your skills :

    I can learn languages easily : CAN + BV

    I can't swim in deep water : CAN'T + BV

     

    Expressing obligations :

    I must finish my studies : MUST + BV

    I must not procrastinate so much : MUST NOT + BV

     

    Expressing needs :

    I need to listen to music everyday : NEED TO + BV

     

    Expressing feelings and emotions :

    I worry about my grandmother who lives alone

    I feel sad when I lose a friend

    I feel moved when I listen to jazz

     

    Homework : Using the poems as models and the sentences you wrote in class, write your own poem and get ready to read it out loud with the right intonation and expressions!

    24/09

    I am the man of your future - oral comprehension page 20

    - work on pronunciation

    - identify the situation (context / where / what occasion)

    - identify the people present (who is speaking to whom?)

    A student is making a speech in front of his classmates and teachers.  He wants to convince them to vote for him in the elections for class president.

    - Details :

    He wants to change things around the school.  He makes three suggestions :

    - cheaper prices in the cafeteria

    - longer breaks between classes

    - less homework

    He says he is a reliable and responsible person.

    He says a vote for him is a vote for the future.

    He says he applies the rules equally to everyone because he's a referee.

    He says they can count on him!

    26/09

    Hour 1

    - recap 

    - What changes would you make in your school? 

    I'd like the windows to be changed. // I wish we could have new windows!

    I'd like the smells in the gym to be dealt with. // I wish the smells in the gym could be dealt with.

    I'd like to have bigger corridors. // I wish we could have bigger corridors. / I wish the corridors could be bigger / I  wish the corridors were bigger!

    I'd like a better organization at the school restaurant because we don't have enough time to eat. / We'd like more time for lunch. // I wish we could have more time for lunch /  I wish we had more time for lunch / I wish there could be a better organization at the school restaurant

    I'd like to have fewer classes. // I wish we could have fewer classes / I wish we had fewer classes

    I'd like the choice of food to be different. // I wish the choice of food could be different / I wish the choice of food was different.

    I'd like all the class equipment to be changed.// I wish all the class equipment could be changed.

    I'd like us to have curtains and heating in all the classrooms. // I wish we could have curtains and heating in all the classes

    I'd like the chairs to be replaced by armchairs. // I wish the chairs could be replaced by armchairs.

    Hour 2

    Reality TV : choose the show you would like to participate in and explain what makes you a good candidate for this show.

    the Fear Factor / American Idol / the Amazing Race

    I'd like to take part in...

    I wish I could participate in...

    I'd love to participate in...

    You see, I'm... 

    I believe I would + BV 

    I think I could + BV

    I'd be the perfect candidate for ...

    Video study : THE SWAP

    This video is about two girls who are going to take part in a show where they will swap lives for 2 weeks.  They have very different lives:

    Susie comes from a very wealthy family whereas Jules has no family and no money.  Susie loves horse-riding and is lucky to live in a beautiful house (a 17th century mansion). She has an easy life contrary to Jules who lives in a small run-down flat in a deprived area with 3 friends who she considers as her family.

    01/10

    Preparing for the final task - books page 23

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    « HOW DO OUR EATING HABITS DEFINE WHO WE ARE? Séquence 1 : SONG OF MYSELF »